Georgia Writers Hall of Fame Announces 2018 Class of Inductees

Jan 10, 2018

Credit Georgia Writer's Hall of Fame

The Georgia Writers Hall of Fame has announced their 2018 class of inductees. 

The University of Georgia libraries started the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame in 2000, and since then, have inducted prominent writers who were either born in Georgia or who wrote a significant work in the state. Five authors will be inducted in 2018. Two of the authors are being honored posthumously: Furman Bisher and Frances Newman. Furman Bisher was a sports journalist and worked at the Atlanta Constitution from 1950 until 2009. And Frances Newman was a novelist during the 1920s noted for her portrayal of the South and women’s roles. The three living authors, Tayari Jones, Cynthia Shearer and Michael Bishop will attend the November 2018 induction ceremony. Writers are publicly nominated for the Hall of Fame and then considered by a board of judges. Read more about the authors here.