Clarke Names 2017-18 Teacher of the Year

Oct 12, 2017

The Clarke County School District is recognizing the accomplishments of its staff members. Greg Huberty has been named the 2017-18 Teacher of the Year. The math teacher has spent nearly 30 years at Cedar Shoals High School. Winterville Elementary School’s Verna Chester-Brown was named District Paraprofessional of the Year. In addition, each school also named a teacher and paraprofessional of the year.

Credit Clarke County Schools

"The Clarke County School District is fortunate to have some of the very best educators in the state of Georgia," said Superintendent Demond A. Means. "I continue to be impressed with the passion and dedication that our paraprofessionals and teachers bring to their craft everyday. It is evident that there is a strong commitment to addressing both the academic and socio-emotional needs of all students. The paraprofessionals and teachers recognized at this year's luncheon are an excellent representation of the very best of this profession. We are extremely proud of all of our winners as they are a reflection of the hard work and love poured into our students by all educators throughout the district."

For being named the school district’s Teacher of the Year, Huberty also received the $1000 Mae Whatley Teacher of the Year Award from the Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County. Chester-Brown received the $500 Janis J. Stephens Paraprofessional of the Year Award.

In addition, two Clarke County High School students were named semifinalists in the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Johanna Hall and Henry Phillips are in the running for a share of the 7,500 scholarships in the spring totaling more than $32 million.

2017-18 Teachers of the Year

Alps Road Elementary School---Joycette Bell
Barnett Shoals Elementary School---Leigh Ann Emrick
Barrow Elementary School---Fonda Slongo
Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School---Annie Turman
Cedar Shoals High School---Greg Huberty
Chase Street Elementary School---Janet Fielding
Clarke Central High School---Alexandra Szatkowski Henson
Clarke Middle School---Brian Parido
Classic City High School---Tiffani Knight
Cleveland Road Elementary School---Joe Weinmeister
Coile Middle School---Fredric RushingFowler Drive Elementary School---Pauly Shenton
Gaines Elementary School---Sarah Walls
Hilsman Middle School---Meganne Skinner
J.J. Harris Elementary School---Lindsey Arinze
Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School---Leigh Anne Lindsey
Stroud Elementary School---Jaime Marshall
Timothy Road Elementary School---Monique Pumphrey
Whit Davis Elementary School---Andrea Rowe
Whitehead Road Elementary---Kira Graves
Winterville Elementary School---Cedric Payne2017-18 Paraprofessionals of the YearAlps Road Elementary School---Marcus Prince
Barnett Shoals Elementary School---Tammy Gartrell
Barrow Elementary School---Hazeline Samuel
Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School---Tammi Johnson
Cedar Shoals High School---Dan Culliver
Chase Street Elementary School---Sheila Snead
Clarke Central High School---Lisa “Lynn” Queen
Clarke Middle School---Diane Westbrook
Cleveland Road Elementary School---Crystal Elder
Coile Middle School---Carolyn Taylor
Fowler Drive Elementary School---Ruth Pittard
Gaines Elementary School---Cheri Howard
Hilsman Middle School---Kasey Brinkley
J.J. Harris Elementary School---Katherine Patterson
Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School---Hannah Rogers
Stroud Elementary School---Rosetta Denson
Timothy Road Elementary School---Felicia Barrett
Whit Davis Elementary School---Sasha Whitehead
Whitehead Road Elementary School---Harold Faison
Winterville Elementary School---Verna Chester-Brown